About Us

Welcome to the North of Scotland Section Homepage

We warmly welcome non-members (including students) and existing members to our meetings, please feel free to talk to us if you might consider InstMC membership & professional development.  We can help with the process as well as provide advice on the path to registration.  InstMC members present at any event will be able to sign your application forms. Please come and talk to us or email our Chairman, Duncan Hutton.

Measurement and Control is a key skill in in industry, especially so in Aberdeen, the capital of the North Sea Oil and Gas industry. The North of Scotland section would like to ensure that we have a strong, vibrant community and that Control and Instrumentation professionals at all levels have the opportunity to maintain and enhance their professional developement, network with other colleagues and keep abreast of the latest technology. Please come along to our meetings and get involved.Our programme has been compiled in order to cover a variety of key technical areas aimed at providing useful educational updates on latest technology for everyone helping to maintain and progress their continuous professional development (CPD). 

Got a Terrific Technical Topic for 2018?  Please contact our Chairman, Duncan Hutton, with your suggestions or any ideas of additional events.

 

 

 

Annual Dinner

Save the date in your diaries -the 2018 North of Scotland Dinner will be held on the 4th October 2018 in the Park Inn, Aberdeen.

In 2017 the North of Scotland section held an Annual Dinner for the first time in a number if years .

The dinner was held at The Park Inn hotel and was a great evening with over 120 people in attendance, the main dinner sponsor was Emerson and Yokogawa sponsored the raffle.

£1250 was raised by the raffle which was for Maggies https://www.maggiescentres.org/

In the picture: Duncan Hutton (NoS Chairman) presents a cheque for £1250 pounds to Paula Cormack of Maggies. Also pictured are LHS – Martin Johnson of Yokogawa (raffle sponsor) and Martin Roberts (NoS Treasurer)

Technical meetings

Our meetings are held in The Park Inn by Radisson, Justice Mill Lane, Aberdeen

Time: 18:30 – 19:30

Doors open: 18:00 for coffee and networking

There is Public car parking adjacent to the hotel (charges apply)

Details of these meetings and the Annual Dinner and Christmas Social are shown below

 

Committee members

Duncan Hutton – Chairman  duncan.hutton@instmc.org 

Megan Hine – Programme Secretary megan.hine@controlvalvesolutions.co.uk

Martin Roberts – Treasurer martin.roberts@instmc.org

Sandy Leitch – Communications Officer Alexander.leitch@instmc.org

David Fisher-Holt – CPD/Education Officer David.Fisher-holt@instmc.org

Paul Furze – Committee memeber paul.furze@instmc.org

Kevin Todd – Committee member kevin.todd@instmc.org

Derek Scott – Committee member derek.scott@instmc.org

Gordon Shirran – Committee member Gordon.shirran@instmc.org

Chris Niemi – Committee member cniemi@chevron.com

Angela Newsam – Committee member

Martin Belshaw – Committee member martin.belshaw@instmc.org

Annual Dinner Sub committee

Paul Furze

Megan Hine

Martin Roberts

Duncan Hutton

Sandy Leitch