About Us

WELCOME TO THE NORTH OF SCOTLAND SECTION

Our lecture meetings begin at 6.30pm (arrive from 6pm for tea/coffee & networking)

Next Scheduled Lecture Meetings are: 20th January 2016 (6:30pm start)

17th February 2016

16th March 2016

18th May2016

Held in Lennox #3 Room behind the glass Atrium (turn left to pass the hotel's reception desk) 

  • If you require further information, please contact our Programme Secretary, Brian Donaldson.

New Committee volunteers/members who feel able to assist us on the North of Scotland Section Executive Committeewill be most welcome.  Please come and talk to us or email our Chairman, Duncan Hutton.

Got a Terrific Technical Topic for 2016?  Please contact our Chairman, Duncan Hutton, with your suggestions or any ideas of additional events.

In line with Aberdeen's growing importance as the centre for the UK's North Sea Oil & Gas development projects, the North of Scotland Section's meetings are enjoying increasing attendances - witnessing lively discussions and friendly networking between experienced and knowledgable engineering professionals focussed on all safety issues and interested in quality engineering practices for reliability.  Our programme has been compiled in order to cover a variety of key technical areas aimed at providing useful educational updates on latest technology for everyone aiming to maintain and progress their continuous professional development (CPD). 

Since 2013, we booked modern and comfortable meeting room facilities at Radisson's stylish Park Inn Hotel in Aberdeen city centre (location map).

We warmly welcome non-members (including students) to our meetings, please feel free to talk to us if you might consider InstMC membership & professional development.  We should be able to help with the process as well as provide advice.  InstMC members present at any event will be able to sign your application forms.

Technical and Social Events

Watch this space for news of forthcoming Seminars & Conferences in the Aberdeen city area.

This will build up as the North of Scotland Section Committee advance their plans for organising seminars and conferences.  Starting point will be the local AGM aiming to expand the Committee and form an Organising Sub-Committee.  The proposed theme in mind is to cover Functional Safety for the Oil & Gas Industry in Aberdeen.

RECENT TECHNICAL PRESENTATIONS

A Note to our Technical Presenters: Technical articles/papers are constantly being sought for our Measurement + Control Journal.  Please click here for further details.

committee members

Chairman Duncan Hutton duncan.hutton@instmc.org
Honorary Treasurer Ken Henderson kenhenderson@aol.com
Honorary Secretary Gordon Shirran gordon.shirran@woodgroup.com
Programme Secretary Brian Donaldson brian.donaldson@instmc.org
Communications Officer Angela Newsam  
CPD/Membership & Education Officer      Duncan Hutton duncan.hutton@instmc.org
Social Secretary Megan Hine megan@controlvalvesolutions.co.uk
Committee Member Richard Morrice richard.morrice@bluewater.com
Committee Member Dominic Holloran dominic.holloran@gb.abb.com
Committee Member Bruce Gardner bruce.gardner@instmc.org