About Us

Welcome to the North of Scotland (NOS) Section Homepage

Promoting for public benefit the advancement of science, practice of measurement & control technology and its application in the North of Scotland.

We warmly welcome non-members (including students) and existing members to our meetings, please feel free to talk to us if you might consider InstMC membership & professional development.  We can help with the process as well as provide advice on the path to registration.  InstMC members present at any event will be able to sign your application forms. Please come and talk to us or email our Chairman: Sandy Leitch

If you would like to be added to our new and events email distribution list - please contact Lindsay Scott

Measurement and Control is a key skill in engineering, especially so in Aberdeen, the capital of the North Sea Oil and Gas industry. The North of Scotland section would like to ensure that we have a strong, vibrant community and that Control and Instrumentation professionals at all levels have the opportunity to maintain and enhance their professional development, network with other colleagues and keep abreast of the latest technology. Please come along to our technical meetings and get involved.Our programme has been compiled to cover a wide variety of key technical areas aimed at providing useful educational updates on latest technology for everyone helping to maintain and progress their continuous professional development (CPD). 

Got a Terrific Technical Topic for our technical meetings?  Please contact Sandy Leitch with your suggestions or any ideas for additional events.

Follow us on....

Twitter - instmc_nos

Instagram - instmc_nos

LinkedIn - instmc_nos




Annual Dinner


Save the date in your diaries!

The 2021 North of Scotland Dinner will be held in October Covid permitting!

Watch this space!

The 2020 North of Scotland Dinner was cancelled due to Covid restrictions.

The dinners over the previous years (2017, 2018 & 2019) were a great success.

During these events the charity Raffle has raised @£6500 for Maggies


2019 - In the picture: Paula Cormack of Maggies receives a cheque for £2900 raised at the dinner charity raffle.

Also pictured – from Left to right – Sandy Leitch (NOS Committee Member), Martin Johnson of Yokogawa (raffle sponsor), Martin Roberts (NoS Treasurer)and Megan Hine (NoS - Programme manager).


2018 - In the picture: Jules Goodwin of Maggies receives a cheque for £2250 from Martin Roberts (NoS Treasurer).

Also pictured - LHS Martin Johnson of Yokogawa (raffle sponsor) and Duncan Hutton (NoS Chairman) RHS - Megan Hine (NoS - Programme manager).


2017 - In the picture: Duncan Hutton (NoS Chairman) presents a cheque for £1250 to Paula Cormack of Maggies.

Also pictured are LHS – Martin Johnson of Yokogawa (raffle sponsor) and Martin Roberts (NoS Treasurer)


Technical Meetings


Currently our meetings are being held remotely online but we very much hope to get back to face to face meetings in 2021.



Our meetings are held in The Park Inn by Radisson, Justice Mill Lane, Aberdeen

Time: 18:30 – 19:30

Doors open: 18:00 for coffee and networking

There is Public car parking adjacent to the hotel (charges apply)

Details of these meetings and other events are shown below:


IMC - NOS Local Events 2020 Overview



Student Awards

2019 was a year  many 'firsts' and we incorporated our first ever student awards in to the 2019 dinner celebrations. Huge thanks go to the Robert Gordon's University and the University of Aberdeen for nominating 4 of their students for the newly created "Outstanding Achievement Award"

The title of the award was the subject of much discussion within the committee. We do not believe in necessarily just rewarding those 'top students', but also want to focus on those students who make great improvements, who perhaps show great courage or even remarkable creativity within their time in further education.

Eventually we settled on the title of 'Outstanding Achievement Award'. This can encompass many aspects of achievement and as the award becomes established, we hope to be able to expand upon the success of our student winners and go on to help them achieve great things in their careers after their studies are behind them.

Congratulations to our winners:

Robert Gordon University Graduate Appenticeship

  • Scott Duthie (1812635/1) the EN1104: Introduction to industrial control prize winner for Graduate Apprenticeship IMC
  • Peter Allan Scott (1813182/1) the overall prize winner for Stage 1 GA IMC, except module EN1104.

University of Aberdeen undergraduate students in Electrical and Electronic Engineering

·         MEng award - NIAMH ELLIS

·         BEng award - KRISJANIS VISNEVSKIS

The awards were kindly sponsored by Draeger Safety UK and each winner was the recipient of a £75 Amazon voucher. 

Committee Members

Sandy Leitch – Chairman / Dinner Sub Committee

Duncan Hutton – Dinner Sub Committee

Bob Moncur - Programme Sub Committee / Dinner Sub Committee 

Mark McPhail - Programme Sub Committee / Dinner Sub Committee 

Lindsay Scott - Programme Sub Committee / Dinner Sub Committee 

Derek Scott – Treasurer

Martin Roberts – Honorary Treasurer

Nehal Hye  Communications Officer (Web page / Instagram / Twitter).

Chris Niemi – SPE Liaison

Miles Gowan - CPD / Education Officer 

Craig Johnston - CPD / Education Officer

Paul Furze – Dinner Sub Committee Chair / SPE Liason

Emma Young - Student Liaison

Jimi Babasola – Student Liaison

Kevin Todd – Committee Member

Tom Murray - Committee Member

Brian Donaldson - Committee Member